• US Edition

Now a Major Motion Picture

Fandom and first love collide in in this joyful, feminist contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Ashley Poston

Iris Thorne wants to blaze her own path. That’s easier said than done when you’re the granddaughter of M. E. Thorne, famous author of the Elementia series, hailed as the feminist response to J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. And with a major motion picture adaptation of her grandmother’s books in the works, Iris can say goodbye to her dream of making her own way in the music industry.

When Iris and her brother get invited to the film set in Ireland, she’s pretty sure the trip will be a nightmare. Except Iris can’t deny the rugged beauty of the Irish countryside. And brushing shoulders with the hot, young cast isn’t awful, especially the infuriatingly charming lead actor, Eamon O’Brien. Iris even finds the impassioned female director inspiring. But when the filming falls into jeopardy, everything Iris thought she knew about Elementia—and herself—is in question. Will making a film for the big screen help Iris to see the big picture?

 

“A war cry and a love letter all at once.” Kirkus Reviews

Rights details

USA/Canada: Sourcebooks Fire (Spring 2018)
Netherlands: Unieboek
Germany: CBT (Random House)

The Author

Cory McCarthy

Cory McCarthy studied poetry and screenwriting before earning an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Kirkus called their debut YA novel, THE COLOR OF RAIN, “[an] elegantly written and emotionally cathartic page-turner.”

BREAKING SKY is in development to become a film at Josephson Entertainment, while their third title, YOU WERE HERE, is a contemporary mixed-media novel containing graphic novel sections and word-art poetry. NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE released from Sourcebooks Fire in 2018, followed by a fantasy duology written with their partner, Amy Rose Capetta; ONCE AND FUTURE and THE SWORD IN THE STARS published in 2019 and 2020.

In 2021, Cory’s first picture book will be released from Candlewick, a biography of the inspiring Lebanese-American poet Kahlil Gibran, entitled HOPE IS AN ARROW.

Like many of their characters, Cory is a member of the LGBTQ+ community.

www.corimccarthy.com

View author profile