• UK Edition
  • US Edition

August Isle

One girl’s journey to a magical seaside town, where she uncovers her family’s long hidden secrets and ultimately finds truth and redemption.

Fans of Sharon Creech and Rebecca Stead will be captivated by this story filled with warm humor, mystery, whimsy, and characters you can’t let go. A modern classic in the making!

For years, Miranda has stared at postcards of August Isle, Florida. The town where her mother spent her summers as a girl. The town that Miranda has always ached to visit. She just never wanted it to happen this way.

When she arrives on the Isle, alone and uncertain, to stay the summer with an old friend of her mother’s, Miranda discovers a place even more perfect than she imagined. And she finds a new friend in Sammy, “Aunt” Clare’s daughter.

But there is more to August Isle than its bright streets and sandy beaches, and soon Miranda is tangled in a web of mysteries. A haunted lighthouse. An old seafarer with something to hide. A name reaching out from her mother’s shadowy past.

As she closes in on answers, Miranda must reckon with the biggest question of all: Is she brave enough to face the truth she might uncover?

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Rights details

The Author

Ali Standish

Ali Standish’s award-winning and bestselling books include the Carnegie-nominated The Ethan I Was Before, August Isle (titled The Secret Summer in the UK), Bad Bella, The Climbers, How to Disappear Completely, The Mending Summer, and Yonder. Her books have received starred reviews, have been named as Indies Introduce and Indies Next titles, and have been nominated for Goodreads Choice Awards. She grew up splitting her time between North Carolina and several imaginary worlds. The only award she ever won in school was for messiest desk, but that didn’t stop her from going on to get degrees from Pomona College, Hollins University, and obtaining a master’s degree in Children’s Literature from the University of Cambridge. Ali also spent several years as a teacher/program administrator in the Washington DC Public School system. She still spends most of her time in her imagination, but you might just spot her walking her two rescue dogs with her Finnish husband and their son around her neighborhood in Raleigh, North Carolina.

You can visit her online at alistandish.com.

View author profile