• US Edition

I Wish You Would

In this drama-filled love story, private confessions are scattered on the beach during a senior class overnight and explosive secrets threaten to tear everyone apart.

It’s Senior Sunrise, the epic overnight at the beach that kicks off senior year. But for Natalia and Ethan, it’s the first time seeing each other after what happened at junior prom—when they almost crossed the line from best friends to something more and ruined everything. After ghosting each other all summer, Natalia is desperate to pretend she doesn’t care and Ethan is desperate to fix his mistake.

When the senior class carries out their tradition of writing private letters to themselves—what they wish they would do this year if they were braver—Natalia pours her heart out. So does Ethan. So does everyone in their entire class. But in Natalia’s panicked attempt to retrieve her heartfelt confession, the wind scatters seven of the notes across the beach. Now, Ethan and Natalia are forced to work together to find the lost letters before any secrets are revealed—especially their own.

Seven private confessions. Seven time bombs loose for anyone to find. And one last chance before the sun rises for these two to fall in love. Perfect for fans of You’ve Reached Sam.

 

Praise for I Wish You Would:
B&N Reads, “Our Most Anticipated YA Books May 2024″
The Nerd Daily, “The Most Anticipated YA Books of 2024″
Eulalie Magazine “May Must-Read Rom-Com”
Also featured in People and Book Riot

“Des Lauriers’ brilliant debut novel will set readers’ hearts aflutter. Romantic, compelling, and optimistic, I Wish You Would isn’t to be missed.” —Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

“Alternating between Ethan’s and Natalia’s points of view, this novel offers a classic friends-to-lovers storyline with an entertaining twist. The supporting characters are likable and real, all with their own set of confessions that will keep readers intrigued. A sweet romance with a dash of suspense.” –Kirkus

“Eva Des Lauriers’ writing brims with fragile, hopeful beauty—the way I ached for these characters and their huge, complicated hearts as they reveal their truest selves over the course of a single life-changing day. One of the best YA novels I’ve read in a long time.” —Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

“I WISH YOU WOULD is utterly charming—full of heart-rending first love and self-discoveries that are the trademarks of the best of YA. Des Lauriers’s fresh voice is undeniable and makes this debut a standout. Natalia and Ethan will absolutely steal your heart.” –Maurene Goo, author of I Believe in a Thing Called Love

“I was absolutely swept away by this gorgeous story. I fell hard for Ethan and Natalia and all the ways their stories twisted and intertwined. I Wish You Would is a stunning combination of summer, growing up, and young love—you won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough!” —Jenna Evans WelchNew York Times bestselling author of Love & Gelato and Spells for Lost Things

“Eva Des Lauriers wrote the book I had been waiting for. Angsty and heartfelt. Romantic and smart. From the moment I picked up I Wish You Would, I could not stop reading it. This book will make you feel ALL the feelings. And you will be THANKING Eva. Your new favorite author.” —Kristin Dwyer, author of Some Mistakes Were Made and The Atlas of Us

Rights details

Sold in 5 foreign territories and counting!

The Author

Eva Des Lauriers

EVA DES LAURIERS holds both an MSW and BA in psychology. As a clinical social worker, she had the privilege of working with the hopeful and complicated teen girls she now writes for. After participating in Adrienne Young’s Writing With the Soul Workshop, she was invited back as a moderator for the next series and remains active in the YA writing community. Given her multi-racial White-Xicana background, Eva’s passionate about exploring the nuances of the mixed-race experience in her writing. She lives in Oakland, California with the boy she sat next to in eleventh grade Calculus, their two children, and her collection of kissing books. Find her on Instagram @evadeslaurbooks.

Eva is represented by Chelsea Eberly.

View author profile