• US Edition

We Really Do Care

Inspired by current events, this picture book shows the importance of compassion, empathy, and demonstrates how even the smallest act of kindness can make a difference.

A little boy has a ball. It’s his, and he really doesn’t care if nobody else has a ball. He’s not sharing. He’s not sharing his pets either. Or his family. Especially not his brother. But then he realizes that both he and the new little girl he meets–the one who’s all alone without a ball or a pet or a family of her own–are actually quite similiar. And when he sees their similarities instead of their differences, he’s happy to share. Even his little brother.

With gentle text from Tami Lewis Brown and sweet illustrations from Tania de Regil, this poignant and touching picture book challenges each and every one of us to to lend a helping hand. Because we really should care. Perfect for fans of Be Kind and All Are Welcome.

Rights details

World rights: Philomel (September 2019)

The Author

Tami Brown

Tami Lewis Brown is the author of the MG novel, THE MAP OF ME (FSG), as well as several picture books. Her debut PB was SOAR, ELINOR! which was excellently reviewed. She has a picture book about the New York artist Keith Haring publishing in 2020, and another, co-authored with Debbie Loren Dunn, about the women mathematicians who worked on the ENIAC computer, coming in the same year. PERKIN’S PURPLE – about the character and science behind the discovery of the color purple -will follow in 2021. She grew up on a Kentucky horse farm, was a trial lawyer before turning to writing, and she has an MFA  from Vermont College of the Fine Arts in writing for young readers. She lives with her family in one of the oldest houses in Washington DC.

www.tamilewisbrown.com

 

View author profile