Rubies and Runaways: Rose Raventhorpe Investigates (Book 2)

Another cracking mystery adventure starring the most unladylike detective you'll ever meet!

Rose’s ghastly cousin Herbert has come to stay, and Rose’s parents insist she be a gracious hostess and show him round. Rose can imagine nothing worse than spending time with the self-satisfied know-it-all. So when a young girl is kidnapped, Rose is secretly delighted – not at the poor kid’s ordeal but at the thought of putting her sleuthing skills to use and dumping Herbert in the process. But as Rose becomes swept up in a secret society of chimney sweeps and entangled in an antique mystery, things quickly heat up and Rose needs all the help she can get, including the help of horrible Herbert.

Rights details

Hachette (UK)

The Author

Janine Beacham

BLACK CATS AND BUTLERS, the first book in the ‘Rose Raventhorpe Investigates’ series, was published by Little Brown (UK) in March 2017.  It stars the fearless, feisty (sometimes foolhardy) Victorian adventurer, Rose Raventhorpe – the girl whose parents despair of her unladylike ways and whose best friend has a hair-do called ‘the Dead Poet’.  The second book in the series, RUBIES AND RUNAWAYS, was out in July 2017, followed by Book 3, HOUNDS AND HAUNTINGS,  in early 2018.

Janine grew up on a dairy farm in Western Australia and has been writing all her life. She lives in a house near the sea with her daughter and an ever-increasing number of books.


View author profile